Renfrew County Museums
The museum preserves and interprets these valued artifacts to generate a sense of identity and esprit de corps for visitors, and brings the principles of military values and leadership to life. Operated by the 1st Air Defence Regiment (Lanark and Renfrew Scottish Regiment) of the Royal Canadian Artillery.
177 Victoria Street
(613) 588-6166 x263
The Omàmiwininì Pimàdjwowin mission is to revitalize, reintegrate, enhance and protect the cultural traditions, customs, practices, heritage, language and arts of the Algonquins of Pikwakangan First Nation. Omàmiwininì Pimàdjwowin is both a Not-for-Profit Corporation and a Registered Charity, established in 2002 through consultation with the First Nation's membership and agreement with the Council of the Algonquins of Pikwàkanagàn First Nation, as a way to meet the community's need for restoring our Cultural Traditions.
The Arnprior and District Museum is full of amazing exhibits that chronicle the rich history of the Arnprior area. Always changing, we are located under the clock tower of a c. 1896 Thomas Fuller post office that is the symbol of Arnprior. Unrivalled views of downtown Arnprior and the best views of the Madawaska River make the museum a must-visit. Be surprised and delighted by our award-winning exhibits. The museum is ground floor accessible with a ramp and washroom facilities. Call 613-623-4902 to schedule your group or class visit today. We’re social – you'll find us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter!
The first train rolled in on September 8 of that year. Over the past 100 years the Station has had many incarnations and currently operates as a cultural centre for the Township of Madawaska Valley. The historic building houses a Visitor Information Centre, Art Gallery and a collection of artefacts and photos relating to the village's railway history.
The Birthplace NHA/NHL Museum showcases hockey history from Renfrew County, including the fact that M.J. O’Brien and his son Ambrose started the National Hockey Association (NHA) from Renfrew in 1909. The NHA was later renamed the National Hockey League in 1917 due to the settlement of ongoing litigation. The Museum features pictures and artifacts showcasing the early days of hockey in the NHA and NHL especially as it was represented in Renfrew County.
Fossil hunters revel in the Bonnechere landscape: the Ordovician Fossil Capital of Canada. Displays reveal the transformation from life in the 1700’s to the present capturing influences ranging from square timber, to lumber and pulp, along with waters shifting their use as original transportation routes to recreational get-away destinations and electrical generation.
Travel back in time along our Footprints in Time (FIT) interpretation trail to learn more about the natural and cultural heritage of the Little Bonnechere River from 12 000 years ago to present-day. Take part in our various guided and self-guided interpretive programs featuring ecological and cultural themes including historic archaeology, pioneer settlement, and at-risk species such as local birds and turtles. Take in a Spirits' Night at The Depot, and view artifacts recovered at various archaeological excavations on-site and up-river.
The Champlain Trail Museum preserves and presents the history of the Upper Ottawa Valley. Indoor exhibits include a replica of Champlain's astrolabe, Ottawa River paintings, Consolidated Lumber's steam engine, rotating displays interpreting Pembroke's history, and an original Cockburn pointer boat! Outside highlights include the former SS#1 Lowertown Schoolhouse, Micksburg pioneer church and a traditional log home.
It is the stories of their sacrifices, battles won and lost, and the aid they brought to thousands, that are told through our collections comprising 20 000 artefacts. With displays indoors and outside, our museums interpret a range of themes and stories dating back to the birth of the village of Petawawa, through the establishment of Canadian Forces Base Petawawa and its various units, including the Airborne, 1 Can Para, the First Special Service Force, and the Canadian Airborne regiment.
(613) 687-5511 x6238
The property was originally a 200-acre land grant offered by the Government of Canada to Europeans willing to immigrate to Renfrew County in the mid-1800s. Wilhelm Hoch, who was born in Prussia, and his wife Amelia, born in Sebastopol, Renfrew County, bought the land in 1904.
Catherine Doherty, foundress of the Madonna House Lay Apostolate, opened the Madonna House Pioneer Museum in 1967 after seeing a need to collect and preserve items that were vital to the lives of local pioneers. The displays of old tools, cobbler and farm implements, kitchenware and the hundreds of authentic artifacts from pioneer homes and farms, speak with pride of our ancestors’ way of life.
The McDougall Mill Museum holds three packed floors of artifacts, many from Renfrew’s early industrial days such as: Renfrew Electric, Renfrew Refrigerator, Renfrew Machinery, Renfrew Flour Mills and the Renfrew Creamery. Our third floor features a military display and the largest collection of wedding dresses in the valley. The main floor holds an eclectic array of Renfrew and monarchy memorabilia.
The origins of the Mission House Museum lay in the former Anglican Rectory building, which sits next to St Paul's Anglican Church on Mill Street overlooking the Madawaska River. Mayflower Beach, across the road from the Museum, offers safe and scenic access to the water and is a popular refuge in the summer months. A variety of children's play equipment is also available for the more energetic. Pick up a copy of the Heritage Walking Tour (available from the Museum) to explore even more history of the immediate area.
On Wednesday, October 8, 1884, the first electric street lights were turned on in Pembroke. The history of the development of hydro distribution is captured in the museum that is housed in the 1931 diesel generation hall built by Pembroke Electric Light. The 1250 kilowatt generator is the centerpiece, surrounded by historical displays of line equipment, early electric appliances and meters.
283 Pembroke Street West
The Village is home to seven buildings that are open to the public: 1893 SS#3 Black Bay School House, 1910 Molson House, 1885 Lutheran Stable, Wood Working Shop, 1890 working Blacksmith Shop, 1850 Trapper Cabin, 1885 Leder Haus; and the 1880 CP Petawawa Railway Station. We also have an extensive collection of artifacts, as well as early farming equipment and logging tools. Our archives and collections focus on the stories of the German founding families, and stretch back thousands of years to the traditions and teachings of the First Nations people. Come in and connect with times gone by -- your memories will last a lifetime!
The Polish Kashub Heritage Museum/Park/Skansen (open-air ethnographic museum) tells the story of their lives in Canada using artifacts, antique Wilno furniture, machinery, tools, buildings and homestead stones. Old and new buildings in a beautiful park setting. Colourful Kashubian revival costumes, pottery and embroidery. Resource Library with a large family history section.
Discover the old general store, schoolroom, pioneer church, barber shop and military items in the Exhibit Hall. Outside, the gardens provide a scenic setting where natural heritage flower beds invite you to have a picnic lunch. Ross Museum was established in 1995 and is operated by volunteers. New members are welcome and are essential to continuing the preservation and collection of history within the Whitewater Region.
The Canadian Clock Museum in Deep River, Ontario is Canada's only clock museum. It is dedicated to collecting, preserving, researching, exhibiting, and documenting the products of Canada's many clock manufacturers and sellers from the early 1800s to the present time.
Lumbering is a major component but the museum also interprets many facets of local history such as Hydro Electric and Nuclear Power development, railroads, pioneer farming, highway construction, and First Nation artefacts. Social institutions, schools, churches, Scouting, Women's Institutes, are represented. The authentic Log House is fully furnished.
His stone house, Waba Cottage was blown up into a heap of rubble 101 years later. In 1967, Canada's 100 birthday, the Museum was built as a Centennial project. Over the years, log buildings and beautiful gardens were added. Today, in one of the most beautiful settings anywhere, we offer five restored historic buildings. eleven beautiful gardens, picnic facilities and handicap access. Groups and Bus Tours welcome.
24 Museum Road